top of page

Ascended by Maggie Mae Gallagher my review

Review Courtesy of April Hollingworth This is the third book in, The Cantati Chronicals, and like the two before it, it is filled with awesomeness. I seriously adore this series.

Alana is such a kicka** heroine but she’s also slightly vulnerable. Not by much granted, but just enough to make you feel a connection with her. She’s feisty as hell, can do some serious damage, and that was before she got some supped up powers. She’s beautiful but doesn’t realize just how beautiful she is. She’s fierce and protective of… well everyone, and so determined you know she will achieve everything she possibly can.

Then you have Phinn. He’s so big and strong, and did I mention he’s a six and half foot elf? No? Well he is, and he’s gorgeous, as in make sure you have a bucket to catch the drool, gorgeous. He’s also charming and sexy and can fight, also he has a sense of humor.

Then you have Phinn. He’s so big and strong, and did I mention he’s a six and half foot elf? No? Well he is, and he’s gorgeous, as in make sure you have a bucket to catch the drool, gorgeous. He’s also charming and sexy and can fight, also he has a sense of humor.

Then you have Gaelen. Another seriously sexy non-human who you’d love to hate but will most likely just pant over. Totally gorgeous, big and strong and well, over protective and difficult.

This book is slightly different from the others because there are more undercurrents of danger about it and though there are some fighting scenes, there is a lot more power plays going on and being revealed than the ones before it. It makes this whole series more realistic in a sense, more tangible. You become more involved with the characters, more in touch with the way they think and even feel. As I’ve said about the other books in this series, I loved this book and adore this series.

Maggie Mae Gallagher is an author whom I look forward to reading her books. Her writing style is not only unique amongst the different genres she writes, but is also of a style that grabs your attention and sucks you into the lives of her characters. Another brilliant book in an amazing series. I completely recommend reading it and all books written by this brilliant author.

Opening Scene:

Alana

Choices had consequences. Mine had. The Review:

War. It’s here. The last war of mankind. The winner takes Earth as its prize. My name is Alana Devereaux. I am an elite Cantati Forces Lieutenant from Earth’s desolate future. I was sent back through time to save your world. My mission to stop the Mutari faltered. Demons infiltrated our world when the walls between Earth and Infernus fell. Millions died in the first volleys. The Mutari changed me on an elemental level and my new powers scare the bloody daylights out of me. Formorian Hunters are closing in on my trail with a singular goal, to enact the death warrant placed on my head by their Queen. Now I am running for my life, on a quest to discover a way to kill an immortal on a power trip, stuck between mortal enemies, and everyone else wants me dead. Notable Scene:

Once I was fully dressed, Phinn held his hand out to me. “Let’s go, right now. We haven’t a moment to lose.”

“Don’t touch her,” Gaelen hissed. He pulled me close against him in a protective, shielding, this-is-mine way. Like I needed protection from Phinn when I had just dusted off Gaelen’s advance.

“If you want to get out of here,” Phinn argued, “she needs to hold my hand to get through my portal. Your kind were not meant for them.”

“Gaelen, it’s fine. Let’s go, before the scouts get here,” I said, wanting to assuage the raging battle between two alpha males who were fighting over a bone. Problem was, I

was the bone.

“If anything happens to her, Hathorian… You will die,” Gaelen promised with a deadly serious tone that made me shiver at the viciousness.

Phinn nodded and gripped my hand. And the day had started out so wonderfully with the Mutari. I was on the run, stuck between two mortal enemies, and everyone else wanted me dead. What more could possibly go wrong? FTC Advisory: Maggie Mae Gallagher provided me with a copy of Ascended by Maggie Mae Gallagher. Published through Maggie Mae Gallagher. Kindle Edition. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page