top of page

The Seventh Daughter by Cinthia Koeksal my review

April Hollingworth

Member of the Paranormal Romance Review Team

3 Stars

Book: The Seventh Daughter

Series: The Scarlet Omen

Author: Cinthia Koeksal

Publisher: SENA Publication

Genre: Paranormal

Rated: YA

Release Date: 2017

Page Count: 360

Body of Review:

This is the third book in the series and the first one I’ve read, so I quickly realized it is not wrote for someone to jump into, but is wrote to be read in series order.

I found this book difficult to read, partly because of jumping in two books late, and as I’ve already mentioned it wasn’t wrote to accommodate people doing so, but partly because I just didn’t quite like the main character.

I found Anjeli to be annoying and have such double standers it was frustrating, yet I’d put that down to being a typical teenager. She was brave and kind, as well as self-centered and at times indifferent to the feelings of those around her, but you also knew that she genuinely cared about her friends and sister. So, add in confusing too.

Then you had her boyfriend, a boy who is hardly in the book yet apparently had all females panting after him, no matter how old or young they were. This is something I found beyond frustrating and unrealistic. I don’t care how good looking someone is, a five-year-old wouldn’t fall in love with him.

But aside from all of this, the characters were a unique bunch, with such inner strength and determination it had me rooting for them, but I still just wasn’t feeling any connection to them. Maybe this was because of jumping in two books later, or maybe it was just not a book for me. I’m not sure which is the case to be honest.

What I do recommend though is that anyone who does want to read this book, reads from the first book in the series. It was so obvious whilst reading The Seventh Daughter that a lot had happened in the previous two books that I needed to know. All in all, I give this book 3 stars.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page