top of page

Casket Girl by Maggie Mae Gallagher

Review Courtesy of April Hollingworth

I was delighted to get a chance to review this books, as I’d been in a reading slump for a couple of weeks. Everything I picked up, no matter how much I knew it’s be good, I couldn’t settle down to read. I’m delighted to say that Casket Girl got me right out of that slump. This is the second book in the Mystic Series, both books can be read as standalones, but to be perfectly honest, these are both remarkably brilliant books and you’d be missing out not to read them. Casket Girl is to be perfectly honest a remarkable book of such emotional purity it’s astounding. Honestly this book makes you not only deeply care about the main characters but feel their emotions, care if they’re okay, lament with them when something hurts them and rejoice with them when something wonderful happens too. I felt fear and love. A protectiveness for the characters and a deep hope that everything will turn out okay. This book made me cry, okay I cried more than once, but honestly, I couldn’t help it. I adored Maggie Mae Gallagher’s writing. She’s one of these authors that throws you into the book just to make sure you feel everything, and I love it. A must-read book, series and author. Can’t wait for the next one.

Opening Scene:

“I WILL SURVIVE,” SHE SANG TO an empty street, her voice echoing off the black pavement.

The Review:

Together they must solve the brutal murders before it’s too late…

FBI Special Agent Josh Blake, has seen some bizarre cases in his career, but his latest one is one for the record books. He has multiple homicides, corpses drained of every ounce of blood, and no suspects. To find the killer he must suspend logic and place his trust in the mystical.

Isabelle Toussant, left her family home in the bayou five year ago, and is now a successful business owner of Madam Toussant's Mystical Gifts in Jackson Square, and a Seer with voodoo roots. The foundation of her new life shatters when one of her employee's winds up dead and she is dragged into a deadly game where she becomes the target of a serial killer.

Notable Scene:

“You’re certain you didn’t hear anything last night?” he said sarcastically, with more of a punch behind his words than he’d intended, more furious with himself than with her.

“What can I say, agent? I’m a heavy sleeper.” She shrugged her shoulders.

Walking through her tiny kitchen, he shot her a disbe¬lieving glance. No one was that heavy of a sleeper. God knew it had been ages since he’d had a full night’s sleep. “I’m sure living in the French Quarter allows you to sleep like a babe.”

Isabelle crossed her arms over her chest and leaned back against the granite countertop, addressing him with a haughty disdain befitting a queen. “For your information, I do sleep like a babe. It’s a wonder what nightly medita¬tion can do for a body.”

“Meditation. You actually believe in the occult and that stuff you sell downstairs.” Please say you don’t. It was one thing to deal with someone working a con, it was quite another to do it with someone who actually believed this tripe.

“In fact, I do. What do you believe in, agent, or should I

guess?” The light of challenge in her gaze simmered with anger. He hated that her furor turned him on, and he could see the banked passion in her gaze, even though she gave him the distinct impression that she wanted to bash him in the head.

She snorted and shook her head. “Look, I didn’t hear my employee get murdered or hear her body being drained of blood mere feet from my back door.”

FTC Advisory: Maggie Mae Gallagher provided me with a copy of Casket Girl by Maggie Mae Gallagher. Published through Maggie Mae Gallagher. Kindle Edition. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page