top of page

The Accidental Stranger (The Accidental Series, #2) by C.J. Fosdick my review

Review Courtesy of April Hollingworth

This is the second book in the Accidental series but by no means do you need to read the first book first. I didn’t, but going by this story, I will. This book is based a couple of years after the first book, and as the story unravels you are led deeper into the stories of a different past and present day.

Beautifully written. Snow crunching under foot, you hear and feel. The warmth of a fire blazing, heats you up, and most importantly of all, the characters you read about, become flesh and blood, and you can’t help caring for them. Rejoicing with them and having your heart shatter, right along with theirs.

I can’t wait to read the next book in this series, especially after the blurb as a preview I just read. Though, I also know, it will likely break my heart all over again. C.J. Fosdick has just elevated herself into a must read author.

Opening Scene:

He melted into the shadows, drawn to the sound of another human voice.

The Review:

Nothing is the same for Jessica Brewster after her summer of time-travel back to 1886. Living life in her great great grandmother’s shoes has taught her the value of simple living and loving deeply. Living in a new home on the remote Wyoming site of her ancestor’s 1886 cabin with her son, conceived then, born in her own time, she is a single mother, making her way by selling the soaps and lotions she learned to craft in the past.

When things go missing, she begins to wonder if she’s not alone. When she spots a bear she shoots it, only to realize the bear is a man, with green eyes she can’t help but remember. Could she have just shot Mitch—her son’s father, and the only man she ever loved?

Saving his life is easier than unravelling the past and revealing his identity. His memory loss brings doubt and mystery. Is the stranger living in her home the man she loves, the father of her child, or is he a stranger living amongst them?

Notable Scene:

“Liv.”

I heard the word loud and clear this time, and when I turned back, I could see one green eye flutter open to stare at me. The green, so unforgettable to me, looked dull and confused.

“Liv,” he repeated hoarsely.

The tightness in my chest deflated like a balloon. “That’s right,” I smiled, “you’re going to live. You’ve come back.”

“Back?” His gaze roved, circling my face, then the room, and the monitor began to beep more frequently.

I knew he had never been in a hospital like this, with beds that cranked and monitors that beeped. Even at the turn of the last century, hospitals would have been rare on the frontier. Strange surroundings to a man whose life just skipped over a hundred years.

“You’re in a hospital,” I said, squeezing his hand. “Welcome to my era, Mitch.”

FTC Advisory: C.J. Fosdick provided me with a copy of The Accidental Stranger by C.J. Fosdick. Published through The Wild Rose Press. Kindle Edition. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page