top of page

I'd like to introduce you to Joe Cosentino


Hi Joe, I’d like to first of all congratulate you on your new release, you must be ever so excited.

Thanks, April. I’m more excited than a kangaroo on a trampoline. Hah.

I’d also like to say that I’m loving your title, which brings me to my first question…

Q1) How did you come up with the title, Porcelain Doll (A Jana Lane Mystery, #2)?

A1) Since Jana Lane (patterned after ex-child stars like Hayley Mills, Patty Duke, Shirley Temple) was the most famous ex-child star in history, there was a popular Jana Lane porcelain doll, as Jana’s agent, Simon (who I want to play in the movie!), reminds Jana as she starts her comeback film.

Like that doll, Jana is gorgeous and incredibly resilient. Paper Doll, released in January, gives us the back story of how Jana left the movie business at eighteen when she was attacked on the set. In Porcelain Doll, it is 1982 and Jana is thirty-nine years old, living in a mansion in Hyde Park, New York. She makes a comeback film and uncovers who is being murdered on the set and why.

Her heart is set aflutter by her incredibly gorgeous co-star, America’s heartthrob Jason Apollo. The other suspects include Jana’s James Dean type young co-star, her older John Wayne type co-star, her children’s Eve Harrington type nanny, the film’s gossipy makeup and hair artist, a local reverend trying to stop the film’s production, and Jason’s agent.

I set the series in the 1980’s since I love the music, hair styles, clothing, and decadence of that era. I was also able to incorporate some of the music, films, television shows, Broadway shows, and political and social events of the times.

Wow, now that sounds seriously exciting, and what a wonderful way to incorporate the title into your book. Talking of which I must ask you…

Q2) How have the early reviews been for Porcelain Doll?

A2) Amazing. Here are two examples.

“Porcelain Doll is Joe Cosentino at his finest. We are drawn back to the fashions and attitudes of the 1980's in a character-driven story full of intrigue and passion."

~ Kirsty Vizard, Divine Magazine

“Beautifully written and intensely detailed, Porcelain Doll is one not to be missed. Flirtatiously decadent with a strong moral undertone, set in a decade of extraordinary social change this is a story of its period that is as poignant today as it was then. Joe Cosentino controlled the emotions that the book encouraged with a deft but delicate touch. Suspenseful and mysterious, Porcelain Doll is a masterful creation, one that was impossible not to be affected by.”

~ Carol Fenton, BooksLaidBare Reviews

What amazing reviews, which brings me to my next question…

Q3) I know you have three more Jana Lane mysteries releasing soon, but I’d like to know, how many books will be in this series altogether?

A3) At this point I am planning the fifth novel to end the series, however, as they say, never say never.

So at least we’ll have a guarantee of three more books.

You write plays as well as books, which leads me to my next question…

Q4) Is writing books different from writing plays, and if so how are they different?

A4) Many readers have told me they love my witty dialogue and dramatic style of writing. I’m sure that comes from having written plays. The difference for me is needing to describe the locations in a book, which of course the set designer takes care of in a play or film. I was thrilled when a number of reviews praised my descriptive passages in my books.

That is a fabulous complement, which in a roundabout way leads to my next question…

Q5) When you’re preparing to start writing, how exactly do you get yourself into the zone?

A5) I generally leap out of bed at 3am with a terrific idea and jot it down on a pad on my night table. If I can read it in the morning, I embellish my notes. That evening I begin by writing an outline. Since I was an actor, I write a character biography for each character. Then I let the characters talk to each other in my head, as I did with other actors when I was an actor. I show the second draft to my spouse for notes. The third draft goes to the publisher.

3am, yikes. Though I have to admit, I use my Dictaphone for my ideas especially those that come at odd hours. Now today is Porcelain Doll’s release day and I would love to know…

Q6) Is there anything that happens in the book that made you want to apologize to your character?

A6) There’s a pretty nasty reverend character in the novel. Jana takes some verbal abuse from him, however, she gives it back pretty well too. I think it’s important that Jana has her own religious beliefs, so she is not striking back at religion or spirituality but at one corrupt person who uses his religion as a weapon.

Sadly, there is those that do that, and I’m delighted to hear Jana stands up for herself. Now for my next question I have to ask…

Q7) You’ve done a lot of acting, do you think it helps you with writing your stories and setting your scenes?

A7) Totally. As a kid I played make believe constantly. “Let’s put on a show!” was my motto with full scale musicals in the garage starring my sister and I. Thankfully my parents and teachers indulged me (rather than committed me-hah). Eventually I became an actor in film, television, and theatre, working opposite stars like Bruce Willis, Nathan Lane, Rosie O’Donnell, Holland Taylor, and Jason Robards. I knew my novels would include show business in some way, since show business has always been such a huge part of my life.

As an avid mystery reader, it was clear to me that my novels would also be page-turning mysteries with clever plot twists and turns, engaging characters, romance, and lots of clues leading to a surprising conclusion. Since coming from a funny Italian-American family, I also knew humor would play a role in my novels. As one reviewer said about the Jana Lane series, I use my background in show business to devilish ends.

That’s a wonderful complement from your reviewer. Just out of curiosity…

Q8) You’re an actor, author and a college professor, do you find your different careers helped you create Jana Lane’s world?

A8) My acting most definitely helped with the Jana Lane series, and Porcelain Doll in particular since I know what goes on at a movie set. My position as a college theatre professor/department head came in handy with my other mystery series, the Nicky and Noah mysteries about a college theatre professor who uses his theatre skills to solve murders on campus. My colleagues kid me that if they tick me off, I’ll kill them in the next book. Hah.

So for my next question…

Q9) Can you tell me anything about what will happen next in the Jana Lane mysteries?

A9) In Satin Doll (not yet released), Jana and family head to Washington, DC, where Jana plays a US senator in a new film, and becomes embroiled in a murder and corruption at the senate chamber. She also embarks on a romance with Chris Bruno, the ex-professional football player detective. In China Doll (not yet released), Jana heads to New York City to star in a Broadway play, enchanted by her gorgeous co-star Peter Stevens, and faced with murder on stage and off. I am currently writing Ragdoll, where Jana stars in a TV murder mystery series and once again life imitates art.

So my next question for you is about writing funks, or as I like to call them, my muse going on holiday…

Q10) How do you shake your writing funks? Do you have anything that works for you to get yourself out of it?

A10) Quite the opposite! I have so many stories rolling around in my head that I have difficulty choosing which one to write first.

And now for my bonus question…

Q Bonus) Is there anything you would like to say about your future books, either coming soon or in the works?

A Bonus) I have a third Nicky and Noah comedy mystery releasing in six months from Lethe Press. In Drama Queen (Divine Magazine’s Readers’ Choice Awards for 2015 winner for Best Mystery, Best Humor, Best Crime, Best Contemporary) theatre college professors are dropping like stage curtains. With the inept local detectives, it is up to Directing professor, Nicky Abbondanza to use his theatre skills (including playing other people) to solve the murders, while he directs a murder mystery onstage. Complicating matters is Nicky’s intense crush on Assistant Professor of Acting, handsome Noah Oliver, the prime suspect in the murders. In Drama Muscle Nicky and Noah have to use their theatre skills to find out why musclemen are dropping like weights in the Physical Education department while Nicky directs the Student Bodybuilding Competition. In Drama Cruise (the upcoming release), Nicky and Noah go on a cruise to Alaska, and discover why college theatre professors are going overboard like lifeboats while Nicky directs a murder mystery dinner theatre show onboard ship. The series is so entertainment, it has amazing crossover appeal to everyone.

I’d like to thank you, Joe for taking time out to answer my questions. Congratulations once again on your latest release, I do love your cover and title.

Thank you, Holly. I hope readers read Porcelain Doll and let me know what they think at http://www.JoeCosentino.weebly.com

Book Title: Porcelain Doll (A Jana Lane Mystery)

Blurb:

Is art imitating life in 1982? Jana Lane, ex-child star, is doing a comeback film about murder. When a crew member is killed on set, it looks like Jana could be next. Thickening the plot is Jana’s breathtakingly handsome and muscular leading man, Jason Apollo, whose boyish, southern charms have aroused Jana’s interest on screen and off. Will Jana and Jason stop the murderer before the final reel, or end up on the cutting room floor in this fast-paced whodunit with a shocking ending?

Author’s Bio:

Amazon Bestselling author Joe Cosentino wrote Paper Doll the first Jana Lane mystery (Whiskey Creek Press), Porcelain Doll the second Jana Lane mystery (The Wild Rose Press), Drama Queen the first Nicky and Noah mystery (Lethe Press), Drama Muscle the second Nicky and Noah mystery (Lethe Press), An Infatuation & A Shooting Star & A Home for the Holidays & The Naked Prince and Other Tales from Fairyland (Dreamspinner Press), Cozzi Cove: Bouncing Back (NineStar Press), and The Nutcracker and the Mouse King (Eldridge Plays and Musicals). He has appeared in principal acting roles in film, television, and theatre, opposite stars such as Bruce Willis, Rosie O’Donnell, Nathan Lane, Holland Taylor, and Jason Robards. His one-act plays, Infatuation and Neighbor, were performed in New York City. He wrote The Perils of Pauline educational film (Prentice Hall Publishers). Joe is currently Head of the Department/Professor at a college in upstate New York, and is happily married. His upcoming novels are Satin Doll the third Jana Lane mystery (The Wild Rose Press), China Doll the fourth Jana Lane mystery (The Wild Rose Press), Drama Cruise the third Nicky and Noah mystery (Lethe Press), and Cozzi Cove: Moving Forward (NineStar Press). Joe was voted 2nd Place for Best MM Author of the Year in Divine Magazine’s Readers’ Choice Awards for 2015.

Where to Connect with Joe Cosentino:

Excerpt of Porcelain Doll, a Jana Lane mystery, by Joe Cosentino, published by The Wild Rose Press

Two days later, Jana stood in her entrance hallway welcoming two men into her home. Wearing a lime blouse and teal Capri pants, Jana stood at the doorway with her mouth agape.

This is the most gorgeous man I have ever seen in my life.

Jason Apollo, thirty-four, with sculpted features and a perfect muscular body, smiled sweetly. Though one of the biggest box office movie stars, he had a sensitive, boyish quality that turned Jana, and everyone else, into putty. Jana stared at his sparkling blue eyes and thick blond hair. “It’s nice to meet you, Jana. I’m a fan. I’m Jason Apollo. I play the detective in the film.” His huge pectoral muscles peeked out of his open flannel shirt. Tight jeans and hint of a southern accent completed the perfect picture.

Jana’s knees dipped. “It’s very nice to meet you, too, Jason. I’m Jana Lane.” Did I purposely forget Otley?

Jack Capello, fifty, craggy-faced, and thin with yellow teeth and black fingertips, brought her back to reality. “Can we come in?”

“Of course.” Still unable to take her eyes off Jason Apollo, Jana ushered them into the hunter green and pale peach sitting room. She had seen Jason’s picture on television and in the newspaper, but having not seen any of his movies, Jana was taken aback by his almost supernatural beauty and boyish charisma. She was also surprised at his height, not much taller than hers.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page