top of page

Can't Bear to Hide by Lynn Red my review

Review Courtesy of April Hollingworth

This is the second book in the Kendall Creek series, and I have to admit it was fabulous. I loved the characters in this story, and how we see the changes in them from the first book, which was based three years before. There’s plenty of tension and enough twists and turns to keep me riveted. I also liked how both Dax’s and Raine’s past both come into this story to haunt them in quite a fantastic melding. Another brilliant book by the talented Lynn Red.

Opening Scene:

When I look up sometimes, into the sky at night, I wonder what the hell got me to where I am.

The Review:

Raine Matthews is the only human in a town full of werebears, and she’s also the town’s sheriff. Dealing with rowdy drunks eight times her size, she has plenty of spunk and grit, which is a good thing when a reporter comes rolling in hot on a story about an impending clan war.

It’s been three years since Raine clocked her husband over the head with a baseball bat, and ran away, hid before meeting Kendal Creek’s alpha, Daxon Mark and falling in love. Three years since she told a lie about what exactly happened the night her husband disappeared. A lot has happened in those years, yet she’s constantly reminded of a past she can’t undo.

Dax is a bad boy alpha who knows what he wants and takes it, even if it means bending the rules which has landed him in trouble more times than he can count. Raine has calmed him down, a little, and age has mellowed him out, a little more. Until an old rival resurfaces threatening not only him and the town folk but also the woman he loves, Dax is mad enough to kill.

With Dax’s rival breathing down his neck, and Raine’s dark past coming out to haunt her, can the love they built survive their past? The only thing Raine knows is she won’t run or hide any more, she’ll fight with everything she has, and hopefully it’ll be enough.

Notable Scene:

Not taking my eye off the creep, I slid the pistol under my arm, clipping the holster strap down. “What’s the news?”

“Here, I’ll break it to you this way. Theodore, apologize to my mate for being an asshole,” Dax said.

The creep took another step forward and extended a hand. I hesitated for a moment, but took it. Clammy as expected.

“Teddy Mason,” he said.

I stared blankly. “The reporter? From the Shifter Times?”

“The very same,” Dax said, turning one corner of his mouth up into a half-sneer. “Marta said he showed up about fifteen minutes after she found out Greg Nobson’s cubs had gone missing. Says he was-”

“Told by a source that there was about to be a clan war,”

Teddy interjected. “Between the Kendals and the Creightons.

The two biggest clans in the country about to go at one another. I wanted to be here to see the thing from the very beginning. It’s going to be a werebear civil war, and I’m not gonna miss a second of it.”

“That’s not suspicious at all,” I hissed. “Are you sure I can’t shoot him?”

Dax snorted a laugh. “If the paper didn’t know he was here, I’d say...”

FTC Advisory: Lynn Red provided me with a copy of Can’t Bear to Hide by Lynn Red. Published through Lynn Red. Kindle Edition. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page