top of page

Destruction: The December People by Sharon Bayliss my review

I found this book unique. The concept of being a dark wizard through no fault, actions of your own is intriguing. I found myself drawn into David’s and his children’s lives. How they learned their wizards, and the fact that David has two other children. I enjoyed the relationships between the five kids, how they dealt with each other and the unraveling secrets. I couldn’t connect with the wife Amanda though. Her double standards annoyed me to be honest. A lie is a lie at the end of the day; the ripple effects of those lies affect everyone. But in saying that, I did enjoy this book, and am curious of where their story will go in the next book in the series.

Opening Scene:

David had waited for an important call for eleven years, and even after all this time, his heart raced every time he heard the phone ring.

The Review:

When a lie finally comes out everything falls apart. But when a further lie comes out holding the final pieces together proves extremely difficult. David has kept secret, his affair and the children he had with the woman. He has searched for his children from the moment they disappeared until finally eleven years later they’re found. The thing is, the uncovering of his secret finally unearths other secrets. Like the fact that everyone in his family is dark wizards. His wife is determined to ban everyone from using magic. To protect everyone. Only thing is secrets have a habit of unraveling. Secrets and magic can be dangerous. Can David and his family come out the other side, or is one hurt too much and two secrets too many?

Notable Scene:

“I don’t know how to say this,” David said. “So, I’ll just say it. The people in the car are my children. Xavier and Evangeline. Their mother is dead. I am taking custody.” Amanda laughed, but her eyes made it clear she didn’t think it was a joke, perhaps only hoped so. “What?” “I had an affair when we were first married. It ended twelve years ago. These are my kids.” “I don’t think so,” Amanda said. “I’m sorry.” “Your kids?” she asked absently. He had expected fury. This was so much worse. She looked frightened and confused, a child lost in a strange place. “Their mother is dead. She was murdered by her husband, their stepfather. I’m taking custody.” “Custody,” she repeated as if she learned a new word. “I’m sorry.” He hated the way it sounded. So far from good enough. “I don’t want to lose you.”

FTC Advisory: Victoria Joy Stolte through Book Ninja Reviews provided me with a copy of Destruction by Sharon Bayliss. Published through Pagan Writers Press. Kindle Edition. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page