top of page

A Broken Life by Jan Christensen my review

Review Courtesy of April Hollingworth

This is the second book in the Paula, P.I. series, and each book can be read as a standalone. P.I. Paula Mitchell stumbles over an old school friend and is horrified to find her homeless. What enfolds is a story of identity theft, and those who will do anything to protect themselves.

Opening Scene:

The woman huddled in the doorway, shivering.

The Review:

While investigating a domestic case, Rhode Island P.I. Paula Mitchell finds an old school friend, ragged and homeless. Determined to help her, Paula learns that Martha Hendricks is the victim of identity theft. Three years ago a mysterious woman with identity marking her as Martha was busted on a drugs charge. Once her boss, a prominent doctor finds out he fired her. Unable to find work, Martha slowly lost everything, and became homeless.

Soon after Paula starts investigating, she receives warnings, to leave the case alone. Then the doctor is murdered, and Martha disappears. Eventually Martha is found beaten and unconscious, left for dead, in Paula’s back yard.

For every question Paula has ten more need answering, all the while the mysterious person knows exactly where she is and what she’s doing. With danger breathing down her neck, Paula must solve this case before she is stopped, permanently!

Notable Scene:

“Are you alright?” I asked. A stupid question, I knew, but I had to start the conversation some way.

“Fine,” she muttered through chattering teeth. “Just fine, thank you very much.”

Well, at least she has enough gumption left for sarcasm. I looked into her deep blue eyes. Clear eyes, I noticed with a jolt. Martha was clean-no drugs, no drink. What catastrophe had brought her to being homeless? I shivered, too. It could be me standing there, if the circumstances were right. It could be anyone.

“Don’t you recognize me?” I asked.

“Yes, Paula. Now please leave me alone.”

“But you look so cold. Come have a coffee.”

She shook her head and started to walk away.

I grabbed her arm. “Maybe you don’t know, but I’m a licensed private investigator. Let me help you.”

She paused.

I let go of her arm and walked around to face her. “What do you have to lose?” I asked softly.

FTC Advisory: Jan Christensen provided me with a copy of A Broken Life by Jan Christensen. Published through Jan Christensen. Kindle Edition. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page