top of page

Tainted Blood by Karen Greco my review

Review Courtesy of April Hollingworth

This is the second book in the Hell’s Belle series and can be read as a standalone. It is funny and fast paced, filled with action and fantastic characters. I must admit I loved this book and recommend it to anyone who loves supernatural books with an odd sort team of fabulous misfits that you just can’t help but love.

Opening Scene:

“Jesus Christ, Frankie,” I muttered as the crowbar hit the worn marble floor with an earsplitting clatter.

The Review:

Witch/vampire hybrid Nina Martinez is reunited with the full Blood Ops team in Providence, Rhode Island. She’s also trying to learn witchcraft courtesy of her Aunt Babe and Casper the ghost. If that wasn’t keeping her busy enough, her vampire partner Frankie, is trying to drag her to the mall for clothes shopping now that he can daywalk courtesy of a demon spell. So life is interesting to say the least as she has no interest or skill in shopping and witchcraft.

Soon though vampires start dying from tainted blood that’s being supplied to them, and Nina and her special ops team are in a race against time to stop the virus and find patient zero before all the vampires are wiped out. And if that wasn’t bad enough a demon infestation is trying to take control of the city and Nina must join forces with the newly elected mayor, and closet demon, Ami Bertrand, before the city crumbles into ruin. Shame she can’t stand the demon

Notable Scene:

“Yes, I got it. Okay, we are on the top floor. Max is on his way to power up the building to get her out of here. Just get here fast.”

“I am on my way.”

The phone went dead. I hightailed it over to Frankie, who was staring helplessly at Kate.

“Frankie, we gotta get out of here.” I pulled gently on his arm.

“Please don’t leave me.” Kate’s voice was so weak, I could barely hear her whisper.

Frankie didn’t move. He just looked sadly at the sick Beta, his eyes filled with tears.

“Come on, Frankie.” I nudged him again. “We can’t be in here right now. Dr. O’s on his way.”

He hesitated. “We can’t leave her like this.”

“We aren’t going to do her any good if we get sick, too,” I reasoned.

He ignored me. I changed tactics.

“Stop being a stubborn ass,” I raised my voice. He still ignored me.

Kate moaned and fell into a fetal position. She began to convulse. Frankie made a move towards her, but I grabbed him. Standing in front of him, I took him by both shoulders and stared into his eyes.

“We need to get out of here before she barfs blood all over us. Don’t make me go witchy on you.”

FTC Advisory: Karen Greco through Net Galley provided me with a copy of Tainted Blood by Karen Greco. Published through Karen Greco. Kindle Edition. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page