top of page

Perfect Victim by Jan Christensen my review

Review Courtesy of April Hollingworth

This is the first book in the Paula, P.I. series. The feisty P.I. has heartbreak in her past and doesn’t trust easily. As the story reveals its secrets we also find out what happened to Paula to make her the woman she is. I enjoyed this story and look forward to the next book in this series. Each book is able to be read as a standalone.

Opening Scene:

Springton’s archaic white stucco police station houses three cells in the back, one for women, two for men.

The Review:

Private investigator Paula Mitchell interviews Sylvia's fiancé in their small-town Rhode Island jail. Warren Wade doesn’t have an alibi. His fingerprints are on the weapon, and his deceased fiancée broke up with him not long before she was murdered. All fingers point to him as the killer, after all no one else had a motive. Then Sylvia’s friend is bludgeoned to death just like Sylvia was, but the police won’t release Warren. After all it could have been a copy-cat killer. Working with her best friend and Warren’s lawyer, Paula searches for answers. With the help of her computer guru lover, Paula and Steve narrow down the victim’s suspects to Sylvia’s friends. With Warren’s freedom on the line Paula must solve this case before the killer strikes again.

Notable Scene:

As I stepped inside, a noise caught my attention. My hand automatically went to my shoulder holster where I kept my .38. “Who’s there?” I asked, furious when my voice shook a bit. My heart pounded so that I could hear it in my ears. “The Shadow,” a familiar voice answered, and my grip on the gun loosened. “Steve. Someday I’m gonna hurt you.” I let my hand fall to my side, my heart still trip-hammering in my chest. I flipped on the light switch and faced him. He sat in my favorite chair, his grin so infectious, I couldn’t stay mad. I took in his lean but muscular body in jeans and a t-shirt, his wide face with brilliant hazel eyes that changed dramatically in different lights, short blond hair, and that smile. “How’d you get in?” “You left your door unlocked.” He said. “Never happened.” I shook my head as I removed my jacket and shoulder holster, and hung them in the hall closet. I tried to remember locking the door, but it was such a routine act that I couldn’t really recall. I was usually careful about it because of my profession. So, I didn’t know whether to believe him or not. One of his charms for me-trying to figure him out. “Come here,” he said, still smiling. I walked toward him, my heart pounding from a different kind of excitement. As I came close, he reached out his hand, grabbed mine, and pulled me into his lap. After a long kiss, he said, “Where have you been? I’ve been waiting here in the dark for hours.” “A new case,” I murmured. “Sylvia Leominster’s murder.”

FTC Advisory: Jan Christensen provided me with a copy of Perfect Victim by Jan Christensen. Published through Jan Christensen. Kindle Edition. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page