top of page

Because of you by J. Lea my review

Review Courtesy of April Hollingworth I couldn’t put it down. I had to find out what happened next, and any interruptions in my reading were very unwelcome. Ryder’s attitude towards Aaliyah in the beginning is really bad, and you know he’s been hurt before, and it’s like a deep part of him knows that Aaliyah is the one girl who can either crush him completely or make him the happiest man in the world. If only he can learn to trust again. Then we have Aaliyah. Her world has been literally torn apart. She’s had to run away to escape a killer. Start a new life and try to live, all the while terrified she’ll be found and killed, and if she lets anyone close to her, she could be putting their life in jeopardy too. So when Aaliyah meets Ryder and instantly feels attracted to him, to say she’s confused by his attitude is putting it mildly. The pair of them are terrified for different reasons, but you know that if they trust one another they will be a wonderful couple. You can’t help but root for them as well as want to throw them in a room and not let them out until they sort out their issues. I devoured this book, it was beautiful. Opening Scene: I enter the room with a glass in my hand. The Review: Abuse, pain, sorrow and fear are things Aaliyah has lived with all of her life. When she finds the body of the one person in her life who means the most to her, who made life worth living, murdered, she escapes and runs to the other side of the country. Believing she’s safe, she enrolls in a college and begins to live again. What she doesn’t know is the killer is after her, and will do anything to find her. Ryder Knight is one of the most popular guys on campus. He lives for basketball, has a lot of friends and a good heart. The only thing missing in his life is honesty. Most people hang out with him because of his money. So knowing who’s sincere and who has hidden motives is something he finds hard to figure out. Aaliyah and Ryder’s attraction is unmistakable and immediate; Ryder’s lack of trust ruins any chance of them becoming friends. To many times Ryder has been used by girls for his money and his success on the basketball court. Aaliyah knows she needs to break down the walls surrounding her heart and learn to trust once again. But looking over her shoulder, trying to figure out if she is safe, doesn’t make making friends easy. After all if the killer finds her, any friends she has could be in danger too. Can Ryder and Aaliyah break down the walls protecting each other’s hearts, or will their fears prevent them from having a happy ending? With danger lurking in the background, it may already be too late for their broken hearts to heal. Notable Scene: “I’m so sorry,” says the blonde apologetically as she hurriedly picks up her scattered things. “It’s not your fault. I wasn’t looking where I was going, so I should be the one who should apologize,” I say and finally raise my gaze to her. Her head is still facing down, I think she’s looking for my phone. “Here,” she says and extends her hand to give it to me, raising her gaze in the process. I am speechless for a few seconds. Squatting in front of me is the beauty from the coffee shop. Her light hair is falling on her shoulders, and her eyes, wow, her eyes, I’ve never seen such beautiful blue eyes. I could get lost in them. I clear my throat and rise to my feet. “Oh, thank you, and again, I’m sorry for not looking where I was going.” She smiles, turns around and walks away. Just as I want to call after her and ask what her name is, Paris grabs my hand. FTC Advisory: Lea provided me with a copy of Because of you by J. Lea. Kindle Edition. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page