top of page

Interview with Cathrine Goldstein author of The Letting Series

Hi Cathrine, thank you for taking time out to answer some questions about The Letting Series, and congratulations on your soon to be released second book in the series, The Coupling.

Thanks so much for having me on your blog, April! I am thrilled to be here. And thank you! I am very excited about the release of The Coupling.

It's a pleasure having you here and I'm not surprised you're excited, having your books released is a very exciting time, and such a wonderful feeling too. Okay so now for my first question...

Q1) So tell me how did the idea for the Letting series come about, and how has it developed between books 1 and 2?

A1) The idea for The Letting came to me when I was walking through the deep woods near a camp in upstate NY. I was bitten by so many mosquitoes, I turned to my husband and said, “I feel like it’s a bloodletting! Wait…that gives me an idea for a YA novel…” I ran back to our little cabin in the woods and began working on The Letting. As far as developing from Book 1 to Book 2, The Coupling focuses more on relationships and the challenges facing Phoenix and Ronnie individually—and together. Wow, what a fantastic way to have a new idea, and such a wonderful idea too. Okay now for my second question...

Q2) How many books will be in this series?

A2) Right now I anticipate there will be three books in the series.

Very nice, so at least we have another one for definite to look forward to reading after The Coupling. Now onto my third question...

Q3) In The Letting, Ronnie has to choose to trust her heart and Phoenix over what she thought she knew, yet in The Coupling she is prepared to sacrifice herself and her love for Phoenix, did you find that difficult to write?

A3) What a great question! It was difficult to see Ronnie and Phoenix struggling, but I knew I could throw Ronnie into the most impossible situations and she would choose those she loves over herself. More importantly, I knew the love between Phoenix and Ronnie is real—so even if it is tested to the extreme, they would eventually find their way back to each other. What a wonderful answer, and to be honest I can't help smiling at such a love between Ronnie and Phoenix. Now for my fourth question...

Q4) What do you have in store for Ronnie and Phoenix, if you can tell me that is?

A4) Oooo, there is a lot in store for them in Book 3! Without giving anything away, I can tell you that together, while continuing their quest to right their world, they will face their biggest enemy yet…and that enemy will be a complete surprise! Also, they have far to go in their relationship. Both together and individually, each will be tested in ways they never thought possible.

Seriously that is a major tease. If you whisper to me who it is, I'll promise not to tell. No? Oh okay, I'll move onto my next question then...

Q5) How did you find creating the dystopian world and the people inside it?

A5) I live in my mind creating characters and plots pretty much all day long, so I enjoyed creating a dystopian world. It’s rather intriguing to imagine what could happen to our society, and the freedom of creating a world no one else knows is exhilarating. The challenge comes in remembering what Ronnie can and cannot know—and why. Ah yes, that I completely understand. Nothing worse than accidentally giving away information to a character and then realizing no way is it possible for her to know that. Okay for my next question, I'd like to know...

Q6) Do you have any future writing projects that you can tell me about?

A6) I have begun a new series I am very excited about! The NY Artists series, about strong, artistic, alpha men and the surprising women they fall for. I write what I call “gritty romance” so all books in this series will take place in Manhattan and although they will deliver a HEA—to get there, the characters face challenges that are not necessarily pretty. This series is definitely steamy—and for adults only. We’ll be leading off with The Rock Star. I can’t wait to introduce him!

Oooh excellent, I'll look forward to reading about him and your other new characters too. Okay moving on...

Q7) Did you find writing any particular scenes difficult, and if so which ones and why?

A7) For me, any scenes that are technical are more challenging. I love the freedom of creating while I write, so when I have to “learn” a new career or skill while I’m creating a character, it takes a great deal of time and discipline. However, I’m always amazed by what I learn from these scenes!

Completely understand that, and learning some new stuff for a character can be so fascinating too. Okay for my next question, it's all about you...

Q8) During your writing process, what do you do to get yourself in the zone?

A8) I come from the world of the NY theatre—so I’m all about getting into character. I can be rather Method in dress, and sometimes I even pick up the mannerisms and speech of my characters. More than anything, music is my guide. I assign specific songs to characters and develop playlists for novels. Very nice. I do love finding out how others get into their zones. Now for my next question I'd like to know...

Q9) In your books, do you ever think, this could actually happen? If so, what would you do differently from Ronnie?

A9) Although I hope none of us will ever live in a dystopian world like Ronnie, I think some of the ideas from The Letting and The Coupling could potentially happen. For one thing, I recently read an article where scientists were putting the blood of young mice into older mice—and the older mice were aging at a slower pace. This is very reason blood is in such high demand in the New World in The Letting series. Also, I believe Ronnie’s basic belief: “What if the Devil doesn’t know he’s the Devil?” can be true for so many of us. I believe many of us have, a least one time in life, done something we didn’t realize was wrong or hurtful until after the fact. I love Ronnie. She’s strong and loves ferociously. If I ever find myself having unknowingly hurt the people I love most—I hope I will fight as hard as she does to right my wrongs. Wonderful answer, and yes, fighting to correct any wrongs is definitely a good way to live, especially in a dystopian world. Okay so now for my final question, I'd like to know...

Q10) Is there anything else you would like to tell me about either The Letting, The Coupling or your writing in general?

A10) I write romance, but with a definite gritty feel. If you like love that’s found despite the harsh realities of life, then my books are for you! Also, The Coupling goes even more in depth into the relationship between Phoenix and Ronnie. Fans of Phoenix will love Book 2… Hint, hint… I must admit, I love romance, and with a unique edge, it's pure bliss. I can't wait to read The Coupling, and I wish you every success with it. Thank you ever so much, Cathrine for taking time out to answer my questions.

Thank you, April, for the wonderful interview!

Congratulations on The Coupling’s release, and I love your cover by the way. Thank you. I have an incredible cover artist at The Wild Rose Press. I can’t wait to see what she comes up with for Book 3!

Blurb:

In Ronnie Billings’ dystopian world, surviving the Letting and breaking free of a corrupt government is less of a surprise than falling in love with Phoenix Day, the leader of the Peaceful Revolution. When the government sentences Ronnie to a Coupling under the guise of producing a coveted blood type, Ronnie discovers the one she’s slated to Couple with expects even more. Prepared to make the ultimate sacrifice to save those she loves most, Ronnie devastates Phoenix with her impossible decision. Whisked away from her rebel life to another world ravaged by despair, Ronnie meets her greatest nemesis...her biological father. Steeling her nerves against the dangers of escape, she embarks on the perilous journey back. She is convinced she belongs with Phoenix and his revolution, but will her friends, and especially Phoenix, be ready to accept her when she returns? Because this time, evil is in her blood... Excerpt: “Phoenix?” “Trust me, Ron.” I nod, my hands suddenly shaking. He takes them into his hand and lifts them to his mouth. He kisses my fingers softly. “You’re grieving right now—I would never take advantage of you. But…” I take a deep breath. He lets go of my hands and reaches out toward the still unbuttoned top two buttons of my shirt. The collar lays open, and his fingers trace the hollow of my throat. “You look gorgeous in my shirt.” His eyes are locked on me, and I feel overpowered but safe all at once. There’s a strange ache in my body, answering to the hunger in his eyes. “It is by far the most beautiful you have ever looked.” My eyes dart up as he reaches out to touch the next button. He studies me as he slowly begins to unbutton. My entire body warms, and I bite down hard on my bottom lip. He abandons my button to run his fingers across my lips once more. I try to remember to breathe. Find out how the story began in: The Letting: http://www.amazon.com/The-Letting-Cathrine-Goldstein-ebook/dp/B00PKY34W2/

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page